Soldering equipment recommendations?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm just beginning my first project - building a flexible, good sized dual-transformer power supply in it's own separate chassis, to allow me to select 25v or 50v DC output, to facilitate future experimentation with chip amps, solid state amps, and potentially other projects.
I have it laid out already, the componentry... and after the PS is built, it's on to a gainclone kit that I purchased here on DIYaudio, on a PCB... and later, moving on to some solid state stuff as I learn. :cool:

At any rate, I need some help selecting a good soldering iron, for performing this bench-technician sort of work.
My trigger-activated, large, high power soldering gun is no doubt not the right tool for this job.

I've taken a look at several guns available to me:

This Weller soldering station is adjustable from 5w-40w, and it's expensive. It doesn't look like a fine tip, either.

This Wahl cordless soldering iron, cordless is handy, design looks ergonomic. Cheaper than the soldering station, comes with two tips, one fine. Not adjustable, 25w.

This Radio Shack Butane powered soldering iron is also cordless obviously, looks small and lightweight, convenient, the tip looks fine, seems like butane would heat up predictably and quickly... but the concept of butane powered soldering irons is 100% foreign to me. Anyone use them? Its heat is adjustable, the equivalent of 5w-50w if I remember the packaging correctly.

Here is a pencil-tip adjustable soldering iron that seems to offer more flexibility than the Weller station, being adjustable from 0w-50w, but without the station itself (that can be bought for $6 at Radio Shack locally, anyway), at a fraction of the price of the station. Can't really tell how fine the tip is.