Kicking It with a Kenwood KA-2000!

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi everyone, James is back with his next project.

I picked up a Kenwood KA-2000 at a garage sale for $3 last summer. I cleaned it out and it worked fine. Yesterday I noticed it had developed a "hiss" in the speakers even at rest. I did some research and found a schematic on HIFIengine.

I studied the schematic and compared it to the unit and there are differences. The schematic is for the Trio version of the amp (British market) and has circuits for one phono and two aux channels. My unit has two phono - phono 1 and phono 2.

And, there are differences in what is in my amp on the pre-amp board and amp board component-wise.

First question is does anyone have a service manual for the American version of the KA-2000? I have searched the internet and find only the Trio one.

My best guess right now is a transistor is failing and I originally thought it must be in the phono circuit because the hiss is louder when set to either phono circuit with phono 2 being quite a bit louder than phono 1. Whereas, the aux and tuner settings are quiet.

Thoughts and suggestions are invited. I pulled the four transistors in the pre-amp section (2sc458) (schematic calls for 2sc350r and y) and they tested fine though one side had a slightly lesser hfe than the other. Each of the legs on the transistors was quite black. (I got a Peak DCA55 tester for my birthday).

The transistors on the amp board are four 2sc984 (little metal cans) where the schematic I have calls for 2sc734 transistors.

The one common factor is the schematic has a 2sc458 at Q9 and so does the unit.

?

James

The schematic calls for 4 2sc350 on the main board. On my unit there are 4 2sc458s all of which tested fine. They are not terribly similar though if I compare the data sheets and no online database names them as equivalents.