IPS Design

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I have a few amps that I have been playing with for a while, then reediting, selecting correct transistors, learning new things and then updating the schematic. In my IPS my LTP is made from Linear's JFET LSK489. While I get the idea of what transistors are a good fit and where, I however didn't really drill down into the small details. I would like this amp to be fast and clean - the rest of the transistors in the critical are robust enough to allow an A bias as well as an AB bias without issues. I am far from an electronics expert but I would imagine that the IPS is possibly the most critical stage of an amplifier - I chose a JFET because of the how of input impedances - the LSK489 is also very quite and is able to handle more voltage then the 389 while having less capacitance making it is easier to prevent from oscillating. Because I would like this to be a high speed design I felt that both a constant current source and sink with transistors would be the best way to do it....what I haven't read up on is what the best devices are to function as CCS/S in the IPS and what parameters are most beneficial however in my schematic I elected to choose bipolar transistors instead of diodes however I am using a zener to protect the JFET from too much voltage. Over the years I have seen just about anything in this area from BC devices to MPSA devices and so on. Other then my voltage requirements, what parameters are clutch for this area and critical to performance? What would allow the IPS to be as quick and accurate as possible?

thanks in advance,

Jared

Those are complicated questions.
I can't help you, because I don't understand what you want/need.