Class AB amp using TIP102. Seeking Critique

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello All,
I have recently been working on making some improvements to a small power amplifier I made back about a year ago (see result of that thread here). Since then, I have done a few iterations on the design, both to increase the output power and to add current regulation to the biasing to reduce any mains hum.

My question is, how can I improve this design? I am still fairly new to all this, so I'm always looking for ways to improve my designs or catch mistakes. I have not done any physical testing of this circuit, so I do not yet know if it will actually work.

A few notes on this design:

1. The design is meant to be powered nominally from a single-ended 48V supply, but the bias current adjustment at R5 should allow for a power supply range of about 36-65V. The speaker impedance is 8 Ohms nominal, but is designed to also work down to a 4 Ohm speaker impedance.

2. In an effort to increase the efficiency, I have opted to use TIP102/107 Darlington pair transistors instead of the IRF540N/9540N MOSFETs as with my previous design, and I made some changes to the output stage. (Please note that the Eagle Schematic does not show the transistors as being Darlington pairs, but that is mainly because I am just using a generic TO-220 transistor package for when I do the PCB layout.)

3. The three pairs of TIP102/107s may not all be populated on the final board depending on the supply voltage, speaker impedance, and heatsinking configuration. I could probably get by with one or two pairs, but I also plan to experiment with rearranging the feedback to try ganging two together in a differential configuration, so I'm planning to play it safe on the thermal side.