Assist with Cambridge P50 Mains Changeover

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hey all,

Glad to be aboard DIYaudio!

My first post is to get any advice I can on modifying the P50 (I'm unsure if I have MKI or II) for mains operation 115-120V, instead of UK 220V.

I have some experience in electronics, but have never worked a 220V device. First thing I did when I opened the enclosure was to probe the monster caps, and discharge with a 10 megahom resistor, just in case.

I've located the service manual on hifiengine.

First thing first. Do I even need to do any modifications to run this on US 120V mains? The service manual makes this ambiguous statement:

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

This explicitly states that mains is "preset within the unit" to 110/120 OR 220/240. Does this mean main power in is configured in such a way, like with a switching power supply, that all I need to do is slice the PSU cord and put on a north american edison three prong?

Then there is the also confusing (to me) statement about the outputs, not inputs. I don't know what these outlets are for (external pre-amps maybe?), but I'm unsure if the following few pages of instructions on how to perform a "mains changeover" is to alter the voltage of the outlets, or alter the voltage of the input transformer.

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

If a new transformer is required, does anyone have any suggestions for which transformer I need? I think I'll be able to handle the wiring.

Attached are a few pics from inside.

Thanks!

Attachments

• IMG_3059.jpg
    IMG_3059.jpg
    724 KB · Views: 48
  • IMG_3056.jpg
    IMG_3056.jpg
    967.6 KB · Views: 54
Just another Moderator
Joined 2003
Paid Member