non-Pass amps youv'e built/heard

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Jocko, et al,

thanks for the info.

Why is it that we're in the 21st century and still no one seems to be able to quantify "it just doesn't sound right" on something that measures excellently on at least a necessary, though obviously not sufficient, set of "objective" criteria?

I'm surely not saying that these "subjective" conclusions aren't real as I've heard such "differences" reliably, but I just don't believe that one has to resort to psuedo-scientific explanations to "quantify" the differences

Borbely has picked up on Cordell's tri-tone intermod test and that sounds promising to me since he states it correlates well to his subjective impressions. Maybe I need to build up one of these test setups.

Hi, Paul!

I happened to see your post above re the AKSA and thought I'd say hello.

Although I'm not good at the Stereophile description stuff, I agree with Paul that the AKSA is a fine, fine amp -- and I say that although I'm generally biased (no pun intended) against ss amps. The 100W AKSA that I put together (which is the amp that pmkap heard) is basically bone stock and had only a bare minimum of breakin when we listened.

That said, if you're going down to 2R, Mr. Feedback, you may need to look elsewhere. I think the 100W AKSA is fine with 4R, but 2R (!) is quite a load. No doubt your countryman Hugh Dean can you provide you with further information on this score.

Re: Current-feedback amps

Jocko Homo said:
Built several permutations of the Alexander amp, and they all sounded like every other current-feedback project I've worked on.

As Mr. Horse would say...."No, sir, I don't care for it at all."

Can't describe it, but it just doesn't sound right. And everyone who heard any of them said the same.

Jocko

Hi Jocko,