Do you think this JFET BJT pre-amp will work ok? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Gallery Wiki Blogs Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 13th April 2016, 11:24 PM   #1
Sin Bin

Default Do you think this JFET BJT pre-amp will work ok?

Hi all, thanks for looking.

I'm trying to build a preamp that has an input impedance of about 1Meg, and output impedance of about 1k or less. I know this can be done easily with opamps, but I'm new to op amps and still learning to use them well. (Thanks to all the thoughtful comments and suggestions about op-amps I have received)

Here is a pre-amp I came up with, it is just a jfet buffer with impedance of 1 Meg (and output impedance of 356ohms) fed into a BJT class A amplifier with gain range of 1-8 (see chart). It has an input impedance of roughly 10k and output impedance of 1k.

The reason I'm wanting a circuit like this is for several reasons. I have various amp units that have gains of 12-32 and input impedances ranging from 10k to 100k. I also have a distortion circuit that has an ouput impedance of 100k. So anyhow, this I believe would allow me link these higher impedance guitars, distortion unit etc, into the lower impedance amps. It would allow me to bump the gain up too.

I will eventually get better with op amps, but when I do get them working right, they sound more sterile and too perfect for me, but that's kind of subjective I suppose.
Attached Images
File Type: png jfetbjtpreamp.png (52.3 KB, 604 views)
Old 13th April 2016, 11:31 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by garybdmd View Post
Hi all, thanks for looking.