What harmonic does to sound?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
As an amateur, I always wanted to built a good sounding power amp. From this site, I learn alot and it comes to this question. A good sound reproduction cannot be separated to its harmonic. While in theory, harmonics are distortion, which should be eliminated, I found that good sounding amps in the market are not completely doing that. Tube amps are the main example. It is said that tube amps produces big second harmonic so it sounds good to most of the people.
In some thread, I read that an audio power amp with excellent measurement figures do not sound so good. Also in some thread, it is said that audio power amp that is too "clean" produces sterile sound.
From the cct itself, like if we use differential at the front end, it is said to eliminate the even harmonic. Maybe this is why the JLH power amp do not use differential, only use 1 transistor for its front end. This can be seen more in tube amps.
What harmonic is really add pleasant sound? What is really the meaning of odd harmonic, even harmonic, second harmonnic etc? If differential is canceling even harmonic, is there a circuit that cancels odd harmonic? It seems even harmonic is the one that makes good sound.

There is no recipe on how to bake a good sounding amp. In a SS amp, even order harmonics are said to give a more pleasant, tube-like sound, but it's not really going to sound like a tube amp, 'tube sound' also involves some dynamic compression. The nature of the second & even harmonics make the sound have 'more body' and be less harsh. Accurate is not always good, but accurate does not have to mean that it sounds worse than a tube amp :) That's why there are people who won't put a tube amp in their system no matter what (this, BTW, is the solid-state forum :)