Vintage amps vs new amps - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Gallery Wiki Blogs Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 12th February 2016, 02:56 AM   #1
Banned

Default Vintage amps vs new amps

Hi

I am cross between DIY and audio nuts, I do buy on top of building. I am shopping on some decent power amp also like Threshold Stasis etc. Funny when I do the search, a lot of time it comes up under "Vintage" amps!!! Not just Threshold, Passlab. But also some of the Krell, Mcintosh and Bryston etc.

I do study the circuits and I studied books by Cordell and Self. The so called "vintage" are pretty much what the books and articles are talking. There is nothing vintage about it IF it is still be best!!! Other than the availability of higher voltage transistors that you do away with stacking transistors on each side, I really don't see much difference between the 80s to now.

Am I missing something? That the new ones are a step above the "vintage" amps?

On top, even if the old amps like the Threshold 400 or Stasis 2 or 3 that have stacked transistors to withstand the high rail voltage, is there anything wrong about it? Is it inferior in terms of sound and distortion?

Last edited by StephenR; 12th February 2016 at 03:05 AM.
Old 12th February 2016, 05:05 AM   #2
Jay is offline Jay  Indonesia
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by StephenR View Post
Am I missing something? That the new ones are a step above the "vintage" amps?
Vintage amps have distortion probably 0.05% at 80W (assume 0dB from 20Hz-20kHz). What do you think is the distortion for benchmark amplifier?