NAD T973 - Recap monoblocks? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Gallery Wiki Blogs Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 24th January 2016, 04:25 PM   #1
webnik is offline webnik  Denmark
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: N/A
Default NAD T973 - Recap monoblocks?

Hello everyone

Ive done my first recap on a NAD T973 on the power supply board. It had blown a 22.000uf cap and 2 of the other caps was beginning to get a little "bulge" at the top. So i tried to recap the thing myself.

It went quite fine, its working now. I recapped the power supply board with nichicon HE and PW caps, and the big ones i used Cornell Dubilier Electronics caps. The sound great btw

My question is:

Now that i have it all taken apart, would it be a good idea to recap the monoblocks? The money or time isnt an issue, but if it is a complete waste, then i wont do it...

Ive looked at some audio grade caps like nichicon muse, Elna Silmic II and more, but are they any better or just voodoo? The thing about the audio grade caps are also that they are almost all 85c caps, and the ones on my monoblock are 105c. All caps i changed on power supply board was btw also 105c.

Is it stupid to buy audio grade caps and can they survive at 85c? Please advice

When giving your advice, please suggest something that have a warm and musical sound Thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old 13th October 2016, 04:39 AM   #2
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Same problem with my nad 973 . The power caps Was blown and som more stuffs in the power supply card. Change som parts by my self and it was working again. for 2 years There was a new part nr for the power supply card nad told med on the support. They rekomended to change hole power card it was uppdated with new spec ! But i did the cheap way and recapt it . Now 2 amp cards is blown and have to be repaird! ����
  Reply With Quote
Old 13th October 2016, 04:44 AM   #3
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Did you go for the recap on the amp modules? I was thinking of just the same thing now when im have to take it all apart to fix the amp modules!
  Reply With Quote
Old 13th October 2016, 10:54 AM   #4
webnik is offline webnik  Denmark
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: N/A
Nope, i didnt recap the modules. Im kinda satisfied with the sound as it is now.
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NAD 3020 Recap davidyjl Solid State 7 26th January 2016 10:12 AM
NAD 3020 recap Heinrich Lubbe Solid State 7 25th July 2015 03:36 AM
NAD 2200 power supply - time to recap? caillan Solid State 13 21st June 2015 03:32 PM
Nad 3120 Recap results kaister Solid State 1 17th January 2015 03:21 PM
Please help! repair/refurb/recap a NAD 3020A premiumcowboy Solid State 3 1st December 2014 08:45 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:38 PM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2016 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 1999-2016 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2
Wiki