VA load - simple resistor or bootstrap

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm studying a a minimalist design (DIGI 125 ) that uses a simple resistor as the current source to load the VA transistor. Most circuits here and elsewhere use a more elaborate resistive divider with the midpoint bootstrapped to the output node or an active current source.

Can someone knowledgeable please summarize the main tradeoffs between the simple resistor load and bootstrapped load? I expect that the current sourced by the bootstrap will be more consistent over a bigger voltage swing BUT.... what of capacitor distortion? Also.... the biggest voltage swings in real music will occur at bass frequencies where loop gain is greatest to mask the distortion.

Here is the schemat .....

Attachments

• DIGI125_schematic_small.jpg
    DIGI125_schematic_small.jpg
    66.5 KB · Views: 210
A simple resistor load means you're trading off loop gain for VAS current. Once you're got a decent amount of current, you may find that loop gain only starts rolling off well above the audible range. Gain bandwidth may well be OK, but the maximum amount is "capped", know what I'm saying?

Hence why people commonly use a current source instead. Very high dynamic impedance, probably to be swamped by output stage input impedance (= load impedance / accumulated beta; note effect of beta droop). You could use a big honkin' inductor, too, but linearity of those is notoriously crummy in the required values, not to mention their price tag and size.