A little nudge in the right direction. - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 14th January 2015, 07:32 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default A little nudge in the right direction.

Hi all, im new to this game and have a couple of quick questions.

I dont want to reinvent the wheel so to speak. In other words i want to stick with tried and tested design for a quality sounding pre amp using XLR outputs, as well as a quality sounding IC based (thinking LM3886) power amp. The system i have in mind would consist of the pre amp feeding two power amps.
Im looking for some thing in the region of 150W per channel to power a set of old Tannoy NFM system 8's and a set of Mission 702's (another project to replace them later).

Q1. Whats a good pre amp design?

Q2. Power amp wise i was looking at something based on the lm3886. Is the sound quality there or are the better ICs?

Q3. where is the best Uk based place to buy components? I have looked at ebay but most things seem to be US listed and not UK listed.

Q4. Is ebay worth it.

Construction wise i know how to use a soldering iron in anger but its a few years since i last used a scope although i do have one on the bench at work.

Cheers
Old 15th January 2015, 06:23 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by maiden fan 78 View Post
.... (thinking LM3886) power amp. The system i have in mind would consist of the pre amp feeding two power amps.
Im looking for some thing in the region of 150W per channel to power a set of old Tannoy NFM system 8's and a set of Mission 702's (another project to replace them later).
Q4. Is ebay worth it.....