some thoughts on prevention

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Arrr, distortion, she be a harsh mistress

I am working on the design for an amp, and had a few ideas about how to reduce distortion to what would hopefully be a bare minimum.

First off, the amp will be built around a PC, and will initially be tailored towards a guitar amp, however the harmonic distortion and frequency response characteristics will be highly dynamic, as the program material will pass through, or originate from the PC. Thus most any amp "sound" should be reproducible. I am going to design the data conversion circuitry and amplifier my self, thus i will have complete control over how the data is processed, and I’ll probably build it around Linux. Although i have sufficient experience in logic and data conversion design, i am fairly new to amplifier design.

Here’s what I’m thinking as far as distortion prevention goes.

Ill use the basically class AB topology discussed in endless detail in these forums before. So distortion will first be cut down on by the already established designs using negative feed back. however, rather than designing for ultimate distortion performance, ill aim for the best performance to price ratio, while providing for reasonable distortion performance, per haps something on the order of 0.1% from 20-20k. Next I’ll provide for additional distortion performance by adding more feedback with a high quality op-amp, feeding the input of the amplifier from its output, its inverting input will be tied to the output of the amplifier, and the non inverting input will be fed the signal from the DAC. I’m expecting this setup to provide for quite good performance, but have no illusions of excellence, I’ve simulated this topology and have had excellent results, but of coarse that does not mean real world results will be great.