Buzzing right channel on a Sony TA-3200F

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Merry late Christmas everyone :)

I am summoning the DIYaudio forum experts again for help.

A few days ago I bought a beautiful Sony TA-3200F power amp for about 30$. The amp works great, however there is a light buzzing noise present on the right channel. The left channel is perfect.

DC offset is almost 0V and the bias is at 25mV as it should be. However one of the emitter resistors is burnt a bit, which might be a sign for some kind of overload.

Can anyone tell me what might the problem be. I am only an amateur audio enthusiast with a little electronics knowledge so any help would be greatly appreciated

Joined 2011
A few days ago I bought a beautiful Sony TA-3200F power amp for about 30$. The amp works great,
however there is a light buzzing noise present on the right channel. The left channel is perfect.
DC offset is almost 0V and the bias is at 25mV as it should be. However one of the emitter resistors is burnt a bit,
which might be a sign for some kind of overload.

Could be a bad electrolytic that's just in one of the channels, perhaps as a coupling cap (there are are least 4 of those per channel).
The emitter resistor is probably ok, (some coloration after time is normal) since the offset and bias are good.

Last edited:
Could be a bad electrolytic that's just in one of the channels, perhaps as a coupling cap (there are are least 4 of those per channel).
The emitter resistor is probably ok, (some coloration after time is normal) since the offset and bias are good.

The amplifier is direct coupled, at least that is what the service manual states. But why coloration on only one of the channels, and why one channel runs warmer?

Joined 2011
The amplifier is direct coupled, at least that is what the service manual states. But why coloration on only one of the channels, and why one channel runs warmer?