kinda off topic but i figured i would ask ya'll - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 19th January 2004, 05:55 PM   #1
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: illinois
Default kinda off topic but i figured i would ask ya'll

my tv recently stopped working
our neighborhood suffered a power outage
not like a surge that i noticed
the tv is a rca big screen about 10 years old

well when the power came back on it wouldnt
ive been probing around in the power supply things seem alright
but im not 100% sure of what to look for other than lack of voltage

well it was plugged into a surge box
that should have protected it

the fuse where the cord goes in is fine
then it seems to directly split the voltage to two 60v lines and im probing around with my dmm in desperation hope'n i find a blown resistor

anyways back to the question

are there any particular things i should be looking for?
like what would be most likely or what componants would be more probable to go out in that situation? resistors? diodes?

either way any help and or suggestions would be greatly helpfull
and surely time saving

thanx ahead of time
 
Old 19th January 2004, 06:16 PM   #2
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: illinois
im almost 100% sure that it is a power supply problem
cause the way the button wont even light up
and nothing happens when you try to turn it on

any help please


thanx
 
Old 19th January 2004, 06:24 PM   #3
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: illinois
just as i suspected there is no voltage @ the power button
argghhhhh this is driving me crazy
 
Old 19th January 2004, 06:28 PM   #4
osey is offline osey  England
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Southampton
Send a message via MSN to osey
Fused Plug?
 
Old 19th January 2004, 06:30 PM   #5
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: illinois
well the plug is detachable
and where it goes in before the power goes anywhere it is fused
i checked the fuse with a batery and a dmm and it passes current and voltage
 
Old 19th January 2004, 06:32 PM   #6
diyAudio Member
 
neutron7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Toronto Canada
Is the power switch right on the main power cord or is it a relay type affair?
 
Old 19th January 2004, 06:35 PM   #7
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: illinois
its in the front of the tv
i pulled it off and checked for power
it doesnt seem to be getting anything

it seems to be relay

but its connected to the powersupply im sure
i figured that would be a start
and would narrow it down to just the supply

hmmm

this thing is making me mad i want my big screen back
 
Old 19th January 2004, 08:49 PM   #8
diyAudio Member
 
neutron7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Toronto Canada
If it is a relay then there must be some kind of standby power supply so the relay can be activated. maybe that is the only thing that is blown. If you can find a schematic for the set, it would help you a lot.
 
Old 21st January 2004, 06:05 PM   #9
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: illinois
i emailed rca
lets hope i can get one pretty cheap
 
Old 21st January 2004, 06:19 PM   #10
diyAudio Member
 
Da5id4Vz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: lost in america...
Send a message via AIM to Da5id4Vz
There is often a 1-ohm wire wound resistor on one leg of the input power to the television. They are kind of notorious for quietly burning up without any fireworks. Its worth your time to look for one of these things very close to the power cord and see if there is any voltage drop across it with respect to the other leg of the line cord.

If that doesn’t do it, you should start hunting for the schematic. Try Sams photo facts.

-Dave

(I think we have a safety related moratorium on discussing TV chassis here. Please be extra careful)
 

Closed Thread


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TJL in figured rock maple veneer. tktran Multi-Way 2 15th February 2005 04:43 PM
any experience with lsk m4? (kinda newbie) skyskraper Multi-Way 3 14th February 2005 05:47 AM
Some kinda XSoZ Fuling Pass Labs 9 27th June 2004 07:17 PM
ML TQWT 2-way? (kinda long) Sherman Multi-Way 5 2nd March 2004 05:03 PM
What kinda Batterys are these. jleaman Parts 6 13th March 2003 02:32 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:22 PM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright ©1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2