Nikko TRM-750 recapping project - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 22nd October 2014, 12:41 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Question Nikko TRM-750 recapping project

Hello people,

I'm about to recap an old Nikko TRM-750 amplifier. It exhibits a lot of symptoms in the sound that could point to the capacitors being bad. Two of them are visually leaking and some look like their tops have been extruding.

I'm a total beginner at this stuff, so I'm essentially just posting my game-plan here in the hope that someone is kind enough to tell me if anything is completely wrong.

The goal is not to restore its original "vintage-sound" but to have an amplifier that sounds as good as possible by modern standards - within a fair budget of course.

I have cross-checked the service manual with the electrolytes actually inside the amplifier and come up with the following list:

Code:
Qty	uF	Volt	Remarks		Parts No.	Replacement

2	0.47	50	Blue (LC) 	211505L		Nichicon FG
1	0.47	50	Grey		211505Q		Nichicon FG
3	1	50	Grey		211510Q		Elna Silmic II
2	3.3	50	Blue (LC)	211513L		Nichicon FG
6	3.3	50	Grey		211513Q		Nichicon FG
5	10	16	Grey		211220Q		Elna Silmic II
3	10	50	Grey		211520Q		Elna Silmic II
2	33	16	Grey		211223Q		Nichicon FG
1	47	16	Grey		211225Q		Elna Silmic II
3	47	25	Light blue	211325V		Nichicon KZ
2	47	50	Light blue	211525V		Nichicon KZ
2	100	16	Light blue	211230V		Elna Silmic II
1	100	25	Light blue	211330V		Nichicon KZ
2	100	50	Light blue	211530V		Nichicon KZ
2	220	6.3	Light blue 	211032V		Elna Silmic II
2	220	25	Light blue	211332V		Nichicon KZ

1	22	16	NON-POLAR	215222N		Nichicon ES

2	10k	50	FILTER		213510Q		Nichicon KG