Help me modify Peavey Blazer Amp

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I want to make the channel and tone switches footswitchable. I want them to switch in tandem because the "vintage" tone position sounds best w/ the gain channel and the "modern" position with the clean.

They are both controlled with dpdt switches. I am thinking I want to use a 12vdc 4pdt relay (or possible 2 DPDT relays). There is room inside the unit for the relays and I believe there is appropriate voltage to trigger them available (which is where I need help).

I'm not really good with schematics, but the Blazer/ Rage schematic shows several points where 13v is indicated.

Here are my questions:
1) Can I just tap into one of these points to power the relay(s) without it effecting the amp's sound or making noise when switched on/off, or would I need to install a dedicated 12vdc transformer for them.

2) There are dirt cheap 12v relays on ebay that I plan to use. Will 13v be okay with them?

3) If this sounds like it will work without a dedicated transformer, I will also need help identifying the point to tap power from the board.

Thanks for helping a newb...

Don't use the 13V, you could end up drawing more power than the circuit is designed to provide. A 4-pole relay is likely to be fairly big and draw a lot of current (comparatively).

If you make a mistake you could kill the amp; if you use a transformer, you're just diverting some wiring from some switches. The worst thing you will blow up if you get a short in the foot switch is the transformer. Wire in a fuse to prevent even that.

If you pick the right relays you could probably get away with it, the 13V is no problem, but it'll be safer to go with the transformer.

It will likely pop when you switch.