DIY Equipment - What do you use ?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi,

I'm rather new to the DIY scene and I wonder what equipment you guys use for building your own cases, pcbs, etc. I want the results to be as good as possible...in my very limited budget range :)

So here we go:

What do you use to design your schematics and PCBs ?
-I started using Protel DXP. Now this is some decent software. You can get a free trial at their website. I use it for both: schematics and pcb design.

For experimenting I use this:
An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

What do you use to produce the PCBs ?
-I'm probably gonna print the design on some Inkjet Foil using my good ol' EPSON Stylus Color 640 printer.

To get the design on the raw material I wanna build my own UV exposure box. I might use the old scanner case I have here and put in some cheap uv tubes. Here's an example of a diy project (not mine): http://www.egmonts.de/pcb/pcb.html
An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

I'm going to build my own etch tank which is WAY cheaper than buying one. There are alot of diy projects: http://www.thelastinstance.de/elek/project06.phtml (this is a german one)

How do you finalize the PCBs ?
Well, looks like I need some drills.
But a bigger problem is how to CUT the pcbs ? Does anyone know a cheap good way to cut pcb boards to the correct size ?
I also wonder how to get the "part description" print on top of the board. I read something about using tattoo foil :)

What measurement devices do you have ?
I only have a very cheap mulitimeter. I'm planning on building a soundcard oscilloscope as my soundcard has rather good specs, so it might be worth a try.

What do you use to design your cases ?