2SC3281/2SA1302 what amp?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I have two pairs of the original Toshiba transistors still on the hefty heatsink ( they check out as good) and the original Pioneer transformer with 75v 0v 75v secondaries.The original amp came out of a skip and had a tree growing through the centre.So no chance of restoration.

What simple amp can I build using these basic building blocks? Have looked here and at ESP but can,t find anything that exactly fits the bill. Of course I don't need to use to use the 75v transformer. Having read the data sheets for the above transistors, it appears they are capable of handling up to 200v on the collector/emitters with a possible OP of 150w. I have several hefty transformers capable of delivering this or can wind my own.

I've built a few valve amps and several simple solid state amps so not a complete beginner. Any suggestions most welcome, thanks for looking,Andy.

2pairs and 75-0-75Vac transformer is not compatible.
A 35-0-35Vac or 30-0-35Vac transformer is compatible with a 1pair output stage (2pair in a stereo amplifier).

1pair of 150W transistors is good for 70W to 80W, driving a speaker.
It could also drive a resistor to 150W, but that is not too good for music reproduction.

Last edited:
Joined 2010
Paid Member
You will need spares in reserve for the day when something goes wrong. Maybe you're lucky but you'll sure be mad if you couldn't get more of this Toshiba unobtanium for when the worst happens. Don't experiment with those transistors - set the amplifier up to work properly with easily replaced MJL3281/MJL1302 types for starters and then fit the original parts if that's what you want.