Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 31st December 2003, 04:27 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Jaycar Playmaster Subwoofer Amp Kit

Hey guys.

This would be my first post/thread in this forum and hopefully not the last.

I purchased, a few years ago, one of these amps and have had it connected to a single 4 ohm Rockford Fosgate 18in sub. It has been working perfectly since I built way back when.

That was until the other day when I moved it and touched the RCA input leads whilst it was on. It made a VERY loud buzz and then nothing. All it does now is blow fuses.

I have basic knowledge on electronics but that would be the limit. I have ever-so-slowly pulled out/replaced basic parts (e.g. resistors, diodes and caps) with no luck.

My question to you all knowing Gurus is how to test the power mosfets? The amp uses three 2SK1058 and three 2SJ162.

Please help - DVDs are just not any good now without it.

Thanks, Liam.
Old 31st December 2003, 05:13 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

Sorry guys I did a further search and found a link to a really good site - bcae1.com and found out how to test the FETs.

Whilst I still have your attention; I won't be able to test these for a couple of days so I'd like to hear your opinion on what might be wrong with the amp other than the FETs.
Old 31st December 2003, 05:32 AM   #3
just another
diyAudio Moderator

I don't know how to check the mosfets, but I'd be looking for a short on the output.

If it's a classic playmaster design it will have an RLC ciruit on the speaker output (a cap and a coil). Check the cap and make sure that it hasn't gone short circuit. also look for any loose wires that may be shorting (at the speaker).