Help faultfinding Jaycar Playmaster Subwoofer Amp Kit

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Jaycar Playmaster Subwoofer Amp Kit

Hey guys.

This would be my first post/thread in this forum and hopefully not the last.

I purchased, a few years ago, one of these amps and have had it connected to a single 4 ohm Rockford Fosgate 18in sub. It has been working perfectly since I built way back when.

That was until the other day when I moved it and touched the RCA input leads whilst it was on. It made a VERY loud buzz and then nothing. All it does now is blow fuses.

I have basic knowledge on electronics but that would be the limit. I have ever-so-slowly pulled out/replaced basic parts (e.g. resistors, diodes and caps) with no luck.

My question to you all knowing Gurus ;) is how to test the power mosfets? The amp uses three 2SK1058 and three 2SJ162.

Please help - DVDs are just not any good now without it.

:bawling:

Thanks, Liam.

Sorry guys I did a further search and found a link to a really good site - bcae1.com and found out how to test the FETs.

Whilst I still have your attention; I won't be able to test these for a couple of days so I'd like to hear your opinion on what might be wrong with the amp other than the FETs.

Just another Moderator
Joined 2003
Paid Member
I don't know how to check the mosfets, but I'd be looking for a short on the output.

If it's a classic playmaster design it will have an RLC ciruit on the speaker output (a cap and a coil). Check the cap and make sure that it hasn't gone short circuit. also look for any loose wires that may be shorting (at the speaker).

I've blown the fuses in my playmaster 200 a number of times when I've had a short on the speaker terminals (even a single strand of speaker wire will do it).

Tony.

Just another Moderator
Joined 2003
Paid Member
Just another Moderator
Joined 2003
Paid Member
SkinnyBoy said: