Faulty Sansui AU101 speaker switch - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 8th January 2014, 12:48 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Faulty Sansui AU101 speaker switch

Hi guys

This is my first real post here; forgive me asking rather that answering a question, I have very little knowledge regarding electronics but I am willing to learn and pass on what Iíve learned.

Iím in need of some advice regarding an issue with my Sansui AU101 amplifier. The speaker switching switch is defective; I need to wiggle it up and down just to get music to come out and then jam-it in that position hoping music will remain (it doesnít normally which is a pain).

I purchased the amplifier in this condition (due to cost constraints) thinking I could easily fix it, but I have failed to source any information that may help. I also intended to use it as a electronics learning project.

When music does come out it is surprising good, big soundstage and an overall smoothness, what else has amazed me is the power, I believe it has 15 watts but sounds way more powerful with my speakers (Goodmans magnum Ks 1964 model),easily fills my 25x12ft living room.

Does anyone know if I can source an alternative replacement or would it be possible to take it out of the circuit completely.

Iíve included some pics below of the Sansui AU101 and the problematic switch.

Appreciate any help you can give me

Dean
Click the image to open in full size.

Old 8th January 2014, 05:41 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Shame about the damage to what is a clean lines, good looking old amp. (I have one around here somewhere too!) Maybe someone with a wreck of one of that early series can help out, since they were very affordable and popular models back in the early 1970s.