Beginner seeks simple advice - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 21st December 2003, 03:07 PM   #1
daryll is offline daryll  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

Default Beginner seeks simple advice

Hi,

Im very new to diy audio but am very keen to get started on my first amp

Could anyone give me a basic quick list of what components are needed to make a simple amp?

Ive been looking for a few days but cant seem to find anything thats very clear.

Basically, just the simplest componets to take a signal and amplify it - nothing fancy.

Also, can anyone suggest a resource or maybe a book that would be useful to someone just starting out? Maybe a guide to what effect better components have on the sound an amp produces...

Sorry if its a lot to ask..ill keep searching myself but any help would be great
Old 21st December 2003, 06:28 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Ok ive managed to find the diagrams etc in the wiki which seem to make it all very simple..perhaps too simple?

I cant see any need for capictors etc in the diagrams so I must be looking at it wrong..

This might sound stupid but are the - & + symbols in the diagram relating to the - & + of the power supply?
Old 21st December 2003, 08:31 PM   #3
djk is offline djk
diyAudio Member

Take a few days and read every word.

http://sound.westhost.com/index.html
Old 21st December 2003, 09:18 PM   #4
diyAudio Member

Thankyou djk ive just had a quick look at that site and it is exactly what I need!

Im going to print it all off and have a read.

I'll post in a day or two when im all gened up (hopefully)

Thanks again.
Old 22nd December 2003, 05:29 AM   #5
azira is offline azira  United States
diyAudio Member