2db maybe more lower channel?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
This is my second post. The previous situation is all cleared up, thanks guys. But I'm still not out of the woods.:confused:

Again, I have a set of Bose 901, Crest AMP 900V, Gemini PA-7000, Sony CD/DVD deck. The problem is that when I play music one channel is a lot lower then the other one. When I use the balance, the right is loud and clear, the left one is very low, you almost can't hear it. But when I use the headphones, both channels run fine. Tomorrow I'm installing new RCA wires. Can anyone help, once again, thanks.

Well, this morning I changed all the RCA wires, still the "B" channel is down. Headphones are good though, both channels working. Question, Is their a video in You Tube or in this forum with this procedure? Even though I've been working with music and equipment. This is my first time I'm going into an electrical equipment like this to give service. I do have pictures, or I can even post pictures of the inside of my Preamp.

Joined 2010
Paid Member
You've told us that this preamplifier will drive headphones but somehow the signal from the preamplifier to the amplifier and speakers is down - almost dead in one channel, right?

It seems obvious but this does indicate that the problem is in the amplifier/speakers so why are you focused on the preamplifier? Is it because you swapped inputs to the amp. and both amplifier channels worked the same?

As Max Headroom pointed out, if there is a fault in the preamplifier, it will likely be in the internal connections to the connecting sockets. As it drives phones, there isn't much that could be wrong there that isn't loose connecting wires, broken soldering etc.

Tracing circuit problems though, does require the schematic which is not free on the net so few will be able to help you, unfortunately.