Tandberg TA 300 output stage trouble

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello all.

This is my first post, so hi everyone. My name is Kyrre and I'm a Norwegian musician, and seeing that all my music is to some extent based on the music that I listen to and how that sound affects me I figured it was time to up my game in the listening department. So I got a hand-me-down Tandberg TA 300 from my uncle that needed some work.

BLOGTA-300-front.jpg

The left channel wasn't passing sound when I got it. I changed all the electrolytic capacitors into new ones, and then, the newbie that I was/am, I figured I'd just fire it up quickly to see if it was passing sound before connecting the transistors to the heat sink. Bad mistake, and I fried a couple of output transistors. So I got new ones and put them in, and slowly got it back to a state where it was passing sound, and sounding quite alright, actually.

See here for a pdf of the schematic (2,2 megs), and here you have the service manual (20 megs)

Still there were some distortion when listening on low volume on certain frequencies (basically around 200 Hz), and I started fiddling with the quiescent current and the symmetrical clipping pot. I didn't particularly know what I was doing, so I figured that I should measure the quiescent current across the emitter resistors. So I placed one probe of my DMM on the leg of one resistor, and the other on the leg of another resistor. At first I set it to 13 mV like it says in the manual, but the noise were still there, so I set it to 26 mV (seeing that I was measuring across two 0,22 ohm resistors). This didn't get rid of the distortion.