Several questions about mods to the Leach Superamp

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi -

After building a Leach low-TIM 6-channel amp back in '95, I have come up with several mods I would like to make but need some help/recommendations.

For a new set of amps (either the low-TIM for the 6 main speakers and the Superamp for the subs for each of the 6 channels and dedicated subs, or just all Superamps), I would like to add the following:
1. auto turn-on/off that is either signal-sensing, 12/24Vdc, or both
2. current inrush limiter
3. delay turn-on that is not in the signal path (could I somehow falsely trigger the protection circuit transistors with a delayed cut-off without turn-on thump?)
4. Clipping indicators (Dr. Leach did not have any ideas for an "accurate" method to monitor this when I was a student, although he mentioned something about the feedback path may somehow be affected when clipping occurs???)

I would like to use a heatsink(s) that will work on the inside of the chassis, probably run down either side from front to back, but can not find any good resources.

Thanks for any help.

Included is a picture of the 6-channel amp I have enjoyed for the last 6 years.

Attachments

• amp03.jpg
    amp03.jpg
    76 KB · Views: 677
My inrush limiter is a double-throw, center-off switch with a largish
six ohm power resistor in one leg. Throw switch to starting position and wait a couple of seconds, then throw to the run position. I'm charging a quarter-farad of capacitance, and it seemed prudent to do this.

Seal Electronics has a relay-driven board that will accomplish some of the things you want to do.

http://www.sealelectronics.com/kits/images/auxboard.jpg

Nifty chassis design! I've been building and using Leach's design since the late 70s and just upgraded my main amp to the ver 4.5
boards; very pleased with the sound.

Inrush Limiter