Best 2N3055 alternatives

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi I recently replaced a blown channel TR's on my Audio Innovations ALTO mk1 amp, the originals were ST 2n3055, I replaced the blown pair with CDIL 2n3055 which I don't think sound very nice compared to the ST2n3055. I did re-bias them as per the circuit diagram. Does this mean I have poor quality or fake transistors. I think the amp sounds really nice and would like to keep it, so (No jokes about the old design please)
I have also replaced the the output DC blocking caps and power cap.
I would like to replace all of the output transistors with better devices or at least keep them all the same like the ST brand. (Does anyone know where I could get some from in the in the UK) I have limited electronics knowledge unlike some of you fine chaps.
I would be grateful for any advice.

Administrator
Joined 2007
Paid Member
The problem with the 2N3055 is that it is such an old device (historically) that you find the offerings available today are somewhat different spec wise. The ST device (according to the ST data sheet) has for example an Ft of over 3Mhz (on a par with modern devices) whereas I think of the original 2N3055 as struggling to reach 600khz.

The CDIL spec shows an hfe of 5 (minimum) which strikes me as appaling tbh

I'm thinking something like the OnSemi MJ21194G might be a suitable replacement.

MJ21194G - ON SEMICONDUCTOR - TRANSISTOR, NPN, TO-3 | CPC From This Range

Regards!

Attachments

• 2N3055.png
    2N3055.png
    342.1 KB · Views: 1,768
Thanks Mooly, So it looks like those CDIL trannys are pretty crap then, no wonder the right channel sounds terrible compared with the left (ST) I thought I had wax in my ear until I started mono comparisons with both ears.
So the ft is important like the hfe for good sound?