Help with a power supply - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 31st January 2013, 03:18 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Help with a power supply

I'm not a design engineer. I need help with a power supply. As you can see from the schematic, the output should be +47 volts. Mine puts out +53 volts under load. All the caps are rated for +50 volts and the pre amp is also getting too high a voltage. I need to bring it down 6 volts. Will changing the value of R16
lower the output voltage?
thanks for your input
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ps.JPG (29.3 KB, 101 views)
Old 31st January 2013, 04:36 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

How old are your electrolytic caps? If they are undervalued the voltage will creep up towards 70, but will collapse when a big load is put on it. All those diodes and C14-15 make a voltage doubler, and transformer ratings are the full load value, not the peak which is 1.4 times higher.
You could change out R16 pretty cheaply, or parallel resistors on top of it. But how much heat sink does Q4 have? If it has enough I would be tempted to buy a 30 v zener and a 15 v zener (I keep those values in my semiconductor stock box) and stack them up line to not line between Q4 base and plus of C15. Line to + of C15. I'd put a resistor in series with the zeners, say 4.7k or something. Then R16 would be irrelevant. Probably the voltage would have have less temperature sensitivity, also.

Last edited by indianajo; 31st January 2013 at 04:39 PM.
Old 31st January 2013, 04:53 PM   #3
jaycee is offline jaycee  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member