Simple amp - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 24th January 2013, 01:45 PM   #1
aco is offline aco  Denmark
diyAudio Member

Default Simple amp

Hello,
I'm rather new to the amplifier world and I thought it'd be wise to present this circuit here, which is a design I've composed from bits and pieces scattered around the internet. I understand most of the stuff going on as my background is electronics technician, but it's been more than 10 years since I had anything to do with audio, which were a project we did back in school.

As said I've put this together from a lot of inspirational sources, for instance the VGS bias circuit originally only consisted of a potentiometer which made the quiescent current of the main power mosfets fly around like a mad onion in a thunderstorm when sweeping the temperature.
The OCP circuit was nicked from another design as well and seemed fairly idiot proof.
I've also added some clamping to the mosfet gates, I'm not really sure if it's necessary but it's of no harm.

I've simulated the hell out of the circuit, but I am a bit on unfamiliar ground as to simulating amplifiers, I've been trying to do all these mandatory THD plots, both with .four and with some nice add-on I found for spice - everything seems to be working nicely over a resonable temperature range.

So the reason I'm posting this is to get some feedback from the pros because I know that I can easily have missed "that circuit" or "that simulation" - Because this is my first project of this kind, and because I've spent a lot of time on it and nearly have the PCB layout done, I am pretty determined to stick with this design unless someone says "that design is notoriously known to open the gates of hell".