Rod Elliott P03 variant with TTA1943/TTC5200 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 15th January 2013, 10:24 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Rod Elliott P03 variant with TTA1943/TTC5200

This is my first attempt at designing boards, but I would like to give it a shot.
It looks easy on the schematic, but Im not so sure about the board design, and I would like hear your opinions.

Thank you!

Please disregard the PCB design, because it is full of errors.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ESP03v2.jpg (46.4 KB, 282 views)
File Type: jpg Esp03v4.jpg (66.2 KB, 276 views)

Last edited by muresan_c_dan; 17th January 2013 at 08:00 AM.
Old 15th January 2013, 10:28 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

Good luck with the P3.. The layout is very very important and not that easy . ROD did an awsome job . do you think you can do better????
Old 15th January 2013, 10:41 AM   #3
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by madtecchy View Post
Good luck with the P3.. The layout is very very important and not that easy . ROD did an awsome job . do you think you can do better????
Not better in the audio quality, but at least the same.
Obviously not better in board size, this one is huge, but it'll do.
And buying the boards is not out of the question, it's just that they are no longer made (replaced by P3A), and if they were, the Toshiba package is different. (I think)
Old 15th January 2013, 10:43 AM   #4
diyAudio Member

Send a message via AIM to SpeakerScott Send a message via MSN to SpeakerScott Send a message via Yahoo to SpeakerScott
Without studying it for a long time:

1. Power traces are not wide enough.
2. Star ground routing combines power and signal ground on the board.
3. That speaker output line winds for quite some distance and under sensitive stuff.