Tube sound from a transistor amp, it's possible

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I would like someone's input on what kind of amp this is. This amp I've had for a long time. Looks like a piece of junk, tiny power transformer, only 10 watts per channel, made by mayfair (the tiny tape recorder company). I work on amps for a living and have heard hundreds, and my shop is in a music store, so get to hear LIVE instruments on a daily basis and I'd like to think I have a good idea of what sound should sound like. But this amp has something that Is so interesting and cool, it sounds like a tube amp. I've demonstrated this to several people "mostly musicians" and they think the same, I've even tricked people by hiding this amp, a couple cables, a decoy tube amp head turned on "standby". They reach for the controls and "whoops" they don't do anything, because the little mayfair is wired up instead. They are surprised, or confused, but they all say "that's a darn good sounding amp", or they think the mayfair has tubes in it.