Building a 400 watt amp from salvage - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 23rd December 2012, 04:57 AM   #1
alttbm is offline alttbm  Canada
diyAudio Member

Default Building a 400 watt amp from salvage

I have an older 400 watt stereo (it was a full featured stereo not an just an amp) so I already have my PSU built.

I'm looking to salvage what I can of the unit + Speakers and build a new stereo

Solid State of course, thats what came out (I think) thats whats going back in.

this is my first time doing any audio work, but I can handle electronics assemby.

whats this crap about ohm's? I'm completely new to this so maybe a little
Old 23rd December 2012, 07:18 AM   #2
djk is offline djk
diyAudio Member

An 'ohm is an Englishman's 'ouse.

What kind of V does this alleged 400W amplifier run on?

My guess would be 57V~70V, but that can make a big difference.
Old 23rd December 2012, 11:20 AM   #3
JMFahey is offline JMFahey  Argentina
diyAudio Member

Quote:
whats this crap about ohm's? I'm completely new to this so maybe a little [help]
Best help in this case is suggesting you study at least a little of Electronics and come back later.
Old 23rd December 2012, 01:23 PM   #4
diyAudio Member

yeap ....later much later
Old 23rd December 2012, 01:28 PM   #5
gootee is offline gootee  United States
diyAudio Member

To understand Ohms, you have to understand Volts and Amperes (Amps). (We will ignore capacitors and inductors, for now.)