Nackamichi IA-3 Upgrde paths

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi all, I'm a bit of a noob at this and would appreciate some input on upgrade paths for my amplifier.

I don't have a schematic I'm afraid, and I have spent many hours looking online but with no luck.

I have however opened her up and been able to follow the signal path for as far as I can understand it, as well as recognise the major components that are common upgrade paths.

I'm really after suggestions based upon the currently installed major components for the best upgrade path in general terms. I know that many other factors affect these components so that each substitution may not have the same effect as in any other amplifier, but do enjoy the process of modding and have already 'upgraded' my speaker crossovers and DAC with great success and I'm now keen to have a play with my amp.

So I'll take a deep breath now and thank all those who make it through to the end of this post in advance.

Firstly main power supply is via a hefty transformer with a central tap on the output, Via a rvb602 bridge rectifier into two Nichicon 68000uF 50V caps marked as 'Great Supply'. Now I'm assuming something like +/-35V on each main rail, but this is as far as delved and am not to keen to power it up and find out with a multimeter as its all quite tight in there.
I am thinking of doubling up the smoothing caps with similar modern Nichicions via some lead out wires? The rectifier is rated at 6A cont and 200A peak so i'm thinking that this would handle the extra inrush surge, but that's a guess and would really need someone to tell me if this would be OK?