Yamaha M50 fixing or rebuild - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 4th December 2012, 08:41 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Yamaha M50 fixing or rebuild

Hi Everyone!! Wicked forum that is! Im new to it. Had a lot of reading done here so its time to post now
Got this amp few years back second hand. Nice sound and plenty of headroom for me bedroom. Then my ex spilled a tea on it blowing the fuse... well then it happened again and its not just a fuse now.
So here we go 5 years later i decided to do soming about it
downloaded the manual, done 'power supply troubleshooting' measurements all good.
When amp turned on heatsinks get warm but there is no amplification. Basically i can hear the music from speaker only tiny bit even with gain to the max.
Is it worth trying to fix it or is there any ways i can fit some preassembled module to match original PS??
Gonna upload some pics tomorrow.
waiting for questions and suggestions. Cheers!!
Old 4th December 2012, 09:47 PM   #2
RS232 is offline RS232  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

If you are handy with a voltmeter check the power supply for the preamp.
Don't have the schematic but if the power amp is working the fault is probably in the preamp stage.

Ric
Old 5th December 2012, 05:45 AM   #3
diyAudio Member

Cheers Rick! I'd give a try to any measurements. The only thing is I'm not sure what readings I'm after.
I'll upload some pics and maybe schematics tonight for people to see what I'm dealing here with.
I'm not a great DIYer like most of guys here, so there may be some dumb Qs will be asked
It's a power amp and I not sure if there is a preamp section ( am I wrong?)
Looks like I'm in for fixing it instead of rebuilding hehe
Old 5th December 2012, 08:31 PM   #4
diyAudio Member