It helps to select best class power amplifier (AB- 40-50 watts)

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi all:

I am new to the forum and want to introduce myself, I am a computer engineer and electronics technician. Professionally I work in computer engineering but I always wanted to build an amplifier.

I do not question the quality of the sound of tube amps and transistor stages in Class A. But I would like to mount a class AB stage (if I remember correctly have better performance). I do not like this:
Amp with power consumption 180W, but only 25W RMS (only 14% of energy is intended to sound)

Do you know any good scheme that can build a stage of 40-50W (RMS) class AB or low bias current (little heat in the final transistors)?

If someone would kindly give me some schema and / or advice to start with the project would be very grateful.

Thank you very much in advance.
-
José Manuel.

PS: Excuse me for my English (google traslator).
PD2: My living room has a size of 8x4 m

Last edited by a moderator:
Administrator
Joined 2007
Paid Member
Hi José, I altered your title to english... hope I got it right :)

I have to say I agree with you on the Class A comments and while there are many many designs on the forum I'm going to unashamedly point you to a Lateral FET design of mine that does all you ask. Low quiescent current and fantastic sound quality.

http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/solid-state/119151-my-mosfet-amplifier-designed-music.html

Also don't overlook the many "chip amps" based on the LM3886 and variants... plenty of designs in the chipamps forum.

Molly thank you very much. I do not like amplifiers based on "chip", I prefer minimalist designs based transistors. I believe that the ability to alter the audio signal is lower.

I will study your design. I look forward to your help in order to resolve the questions you might find me.

Do other designs or suggestions?