Dx Blame ST together Dx Super A

Dear Terry, your transformer can "produce" 350 watts RMS of sound

So, it will be good to power two channels of the Dx Super A operating at 8 and also 4 ohms.

In the reality your will have to adjust your Dx Supply to 35 volts to keep some volts available to the regulator to do it's job... this way your output power gonna be 50 plus 50 watts RMS at 8 ohms.... 100 plus 100 watts RMS at 4 ohms and will be able to put out 160 plus 160 watts RMS at 2 ohms.

Your heatsink must be bought to dissipate 250 watts each one of them.... i do think in the internet you can buy heatsinks using the watts as data to enter..if not, then ask a forum friend to help you.

I am a Broadcasting Television Professional, and a Psychologist as a degrée (never used...just a paper to decorate wall)...i also do not understand about heatsinks.

I have developed a method.... and this is easy to understand:

A squared blade of aluminum, 4 inches size to each side, 1 to 1.5 milimeters thick, is good to an amplifier putting out 10 watts RMS of audio.

So, 2 blades (fins) will be good to 20 watts

So, 3 blades (fins) will be good to 30 watts

this way you can evaluate the heatsinks you have...based into dimensions.... convert into area multiplying side by side and make your calculations

Each amplifier channel, will need 16 of these blades to continuous power.... a half of that for music...but if you push it hard at 2 ohms...if you gonna use 4 and 8 ohms...these heatsinks you see inside mini audio systems will fit..these ones you see attached to STK audio amplifier modules..count the fins and evaluate...this is all i can do to help you.

No problem to make mistakes...if you decide for a really big heatsink..much bigger than the size you need..the result will be your amplifier operating cool...if you decide for an unit smaller than the needed size, then it gonna be too much hot and you will attach a fan to help the cooling...just that.

regards,

Carlos

Last edited: