diyAudio

diyAudio (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/)
-   Solid State (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/solid-state/)
-   -   Cyrus II r/ch distorcion (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/solid-state/221567-cyrus-ii-r-ch-distorcion.html)

astrostar 15th October 2012 12:50 AM

Cyrus II r/ch distorcion

Hello!

Im new to this forum and Ive been digging here trying to find a solution to a problem ill try to discribe the best I can.

Im the proud owner of a Cyrus II issue 07 date 9111 bougth secondhand 15 years ago and apart a problem some years ago allays have worked perfectely.
Some time ago I noticed the sound on rigth channel was "closed", no bass, no treble, only arround the middles and sound level lower then the left channel. Have been trying to find a solution but without success. Already cleanned knobs.

Any kind of help is welcome, Im not an expert on electronics but I have some experience.

UPDATE: After more readings in this forum regarding similar problems,a user (godfrey) mencioned about a speaker problem and I went to check that and, indeed, it is a speaker problem, the speakers are a TDL RTL3, I disassemble the entry part and made a bypass between input A and input B and now it sounds alot better.

Anyway, once Amp is open, what are the mods I can do to improve its performance a bit more? Capacitors on PSX? capacitors on Amp?

Many thanks,
Henrique

(ps. sorry my english)

amptech 15th October 2012 09:53 PM

Have you checked the old gold type caps in the preamp stage as these can dry or leak..

Next trace the audio signal around the preamp stage to ensure clean signal, these amps use Darlington o/ps with a catch diode built in test all out puts..

See how you get on.

astrostar 15th October 2012 11:34 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by amptech (Post 3202853)
Have you checked the old gold type caps in the preamp stage as these can dry or leak..