Sansui AU-6500 died on me :(

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
So it powers on and you hear the click to indicate the power amp has also just switched on but then......

The speaker cone shoots forward and there is a "zoooogt" noise with each forward excursion. It does not fire the cones backward what so ever. It ran great for over a decade for me up until maybe 4 years ago.

I have no respectable experience with power amp repair, design or modification. I am 6 months into my electronic engineering degree and do not start learning about power amps for a few weeks. I have a fair amount of experience in custom preamp design but again, no familiarity with standard industry circuits. I've always taken the you design it, you build it, you blame nor thank nobody but yourself for the outcome.

My father gave me this amp nearly 20 years ago so I would really like to salvage it. I won't make any theoretical guesses about what's wrong because I am truly ignorant about these symptoms.
I will however degrime it until maybe we can get it running again!
It's unbelievable how good all the small caps look.

Just another Moderator
Joined 2003
Paid Member
first thing unplug those speakers!! don't plug them back again until you are 100% sure it is working properly.

It sounds like you have a fault that is putting DC on the output, checking that with a multimeter with dummy load (or even no load) attached is probably a good first step.

Tony.

first thing unplug those speakers!! don't plug them back again until you are 100% sure it is working properly.

It sounds like you have a fault that is putting DC on the output, checking that with a multimeter with dummy load (or even no load) attached is probably a good first step.

Tony.

Ah yes, very good observation!
The single direction throw would be a sign of DC.
I will dummy load test them and post my findings.

Thanks man!