Sansui AU-6500 died on me :( - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 9th October 2012, 03:03 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Sansui AU-6500 died on me :(

So it powers on and you hear the click to indicate the power amp has also just switched on but then......

The speaker cone shoots forward and there is a "zoooogt" noise with each forward excursion. It does not fire the cones backward what so ever. It ran great for over a decade for me up until maybe 4 years ago.

I have no respectable experience with power amp repair, design or modification. I am 6 months into my electronic engineering degree and do not start learning about power amps for a few weeks. I have a fair amount of experience in custom preamp design but again, no familiarity with standard industry circuits. I've always taken the you design it, you build it, you blame nor thank nobody but yourself for the outcome.

My father gave me this amp nearly 20 years ago so I would really like to salvage it. I won't make any theoretical guesses about what's wrong because I am truly ignorant about these symptoms.
I will however degrime it until maybe we can get it running again!
It's unbelievable how good all the small caps look.
Old 9th October 2012, 03:21 AM   #2
just another
diyAudio Moderator

first thing unplug those speakers!! don't plug them back again until you are 100% sure it is working properly.

It sounds like you have a fault that is putting DC on the output, checking that with a multimeter with dummy load (or even no load) attached is probably a good first step.

Tony.
Old 9th October 2012, 03:43 AM   #3
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by wintermute View Post