diyAudio

diyAudio (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/)
-   Solid State (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/solid-state/)
-   -   Help diagnose Rotel RX-304 receiver - right FM channel faint (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/solid-state/221083-help-diagnose-rotel-rx-304-receiver-right-fm-channel-faint.html)

bandolino 7th October 2012 05:32 AM

Help diagnose Rotel RX-304 receiver - right FM channel faint

Hello all,

I am looking for assistance with troubleshooting a Rotel RX-304 receiver in partial working condition. I have just completed replacing all the electrolytic capacitors. Before the recap, all functions worked ok. Now, after the recap, there is a problem with the FM. Output in the right channel is very faint. This problem only shows up in FM mode. Reception is fine, and muting works. Output to speakers and to headphones both show the same results.

I am an absolute beginner at amplifier repair. I have been reading up online, but usually find the information to be beyond my knowledge level. I use a digital multimeter with some proficiency, and I do not have an oscilloscope, a signal generator, or dummy load resistors. I do use a light bulb in series device (dim bulb tester) to first power on old amps safely. I do have the service manual, and have been poring over the schematics, but don't know enough to understand what to look for.

So far, I have checked the rail voltages, checked dc offset, done a simple test of the transistors with the unit powered off, and checked voltages on some transistors with the unit powered on. I also double checked all the wiring, and looked for loose solder or wires on the board as a result of my work.

The service manual for this receiver is available here:

B&W Group North America Service & Support - Service Manuals