DC coupling with a differential amp-is this right? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 1st September 2012, 06:32 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default DC coupling with a differential amp-is this right?

Hello everyone,
I am in the proccess of designing a simple, one mosfet (per channel) class A amp, and I want to incorporate DC coupling in all stages.
For the input I used an opamp as a buffer, and according to LTspice it does block the DC from reaching my source (yay), so good bye input cap.
For the output I used a differential amplifier. inverting input takes the signal+DC and non inverting is essenssially a low pass filter with a cutoff frequency as close to 0 as possible. Gain is 1. Now bear with me, I am new to electronics and know very little about op amps. But this should work. DC+signal-DC=signal. and according to LT spice the dc offset at the output is in the region of 1-2 microvolts.
So this is correct? and with real components and a few hours of continuous operation how is this affected? it should keep working correctly, no matter what the dc offset in the opamp input becomes.
Now my next step is to make the buffer and differential step discrete, I wouldn't like to have to deal with elements in IC that I cannot really control. The designs I have find (simple 2 transistor differential amps) dont seem to work correctly in the simulation.). Any ideas?
I dont have the time to upload the schematic, plus it looks a bit messy right now. I'd appreciate some enlightment. thanks.

Last edited by spyrusthevirus; 1st September 2012 at 06:50 AM.
Old 1st September 2012, 10:47 AM   #2
DF96 is offline DF96  England
diyAudio Member