Biasing output stage FETs

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi Guys,
Can anyone point me to an online tutorial, or give me a breif overview of how to bias output stage fets for a class AB amp?
This is my first attempt at a fet amp, and although I could just copy an output stage from someone else's schematic, I'd like to get an understanding of what's going on...I don't want to blow up those expensive devices!!! (2sk1058 & 2sk162)
I'm planning on driving them with an SRPP valve stage, via a capacitor, not direct coupled, and using a single ended power supply taking the speaker out via a cap., (this amp will be for guitar, you audiophiles can relax...)
so the biasing arrangement should be fairly simple, I'm just not sure how to work the numbers.

any help for this newbie would be appreciated,
cheers, Pete McK

It would be much easier to help if you post a schematic of what you have so far. I have no idea how you are configuring the OPS.

PeteMcK said:
Hi Guys,
Can anyone point me to an online tutorial, or give me a breif overview of how to bias output stage fets for a class AB amp?
This is my first attempt at a fet amp, and although I could just copy an output stage from someone else's schematic, I'd like to get an understanding of what's going on...I don't want to blow up those expensive devices!!! (2sk1058 & 2sk162)
I'm planning on driving them with an SRPP valve stage, via a capacitor, not direct coupled, and using a single ended power supply taking the speaker out via a cap., (this amp will be for guitar, you audiophiles can relax...)
so the biasing arrangement should be fairly simple, I'm just not sure how to work the numbers.

any help for this newbie would be appreciated,
cheers, Pete McK

that's it!

Hi DShort,

Thanks for the links