Biasing output stage FETs - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 3rd February 2002, 11:59 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Question Biasing output stage FETs

Hi Guys,
Can anyone point me to an online tutorial, or give me a breif overview of how to bias output stage fets for a class AB amp?
This is my first attempt at a fet amp, and although I could just copy an output stage from someone else's schematic, I'd like to get an understanding of what's going on...I don't want to blow up those expensive devices!!! (2sk1058 & 2sk162)
I'm planning on driving them with an SRPP valve stage, via a capacitor, not direct coupled, and using a single ended power supply taking the speaker out via a cap., (this amp will be for guitar, you audiophiles can relax...)
so the biasing arrangement should be fairly simple, I'm just not sure how to work the numbers.

any help for this newbie would be appreciated,
cheers, Pete McK
Old 4th February 2002, 01:44 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

Default Re: Biasing output stage FETs

It would be much easier to help if you post a schematic of what you have so far. I have no idea how you are configuring the OPS.

Quote:
Originally posted by PeteMcK
Hi Guys,
Can anyone point me to an online tutorial, or give me a breif overview of how to bias output stage fets for a class AB amp?
This is my first attempt at a fet amp, and although I could just copy an output stage from someone else's schematic, I'd like to get an understanding of what's going on...I don't want to blow up those expensive devices!!! (2sk1058 & 2sk162)