true class A or push/pull(A/B) for a studio monitoring?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi.

I have some experience in mixing and mastering audio with an amateur equipment, but now the challenge is more professional. I've been required to "sound engineer" an stereo mixing and a 5.1 mixing in a short film.

I'm currently reading sloane book "high power.." and lots of threads on this forum, after a while I like the sr50 from apex, also DoZ, both of them caught my attention.

Back in college or whatever the name is for engineering studies (in spain it's called university) they worshipped the "pure class A" for not having crossover distortion, that it's only one reason I strongly recall for choosing these designs.

I'm not aiming to high power rather than fidelity; THD, "etc", but for a recording studio monitoring.. which way would you go? Class A?

Forgive my mistakes in english and kind regards.

In my humble opinion....I would tend to think your focus should be setting up your studio..As a different choice of loudspeaker monitors, reflections within said studio...absorptive materials, etc.....will affect your accuracy by several factors..... more important than your choice of amplification.
As the loudspeaker contributes 95% of your "inaccuracies" I would think this should be your focus.
Amp choices should be far down your list of concerns.

________________________________________________________Rick........

Good point. I have plenty of room for the studio, even a book about studio designs from the spanish public television which was used since 1986 for reference design all over the country.
I will ask in the loudspeakers section, but i was thinking that the work flow could go in parallel, (I will build the cabinets, crossovers... well, I'll try).