Lateral MOSFET power supply and RMS output power. - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 22nd March 2012, 07:12 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Unhappy Lateral MOSFET power supply and RMS output power.

Hi guys.

I'm a newbie in this forum, so forgive me if my questions seems absurd and also my english which is not my native language. I studied electronics a while ago, well a decade ago. I built then a 120wRMS on 4ohms power amp using the famous hitachi 2sk1058/2sj162.

This amplifier had a tube preamp and after months of good sound it started to oscillate, well, I could'nt find then what was wrong, so I decided to unmont all pcb's, transformers etc, until I could find time and/or better knowledge, I suspected the preamp, later I discovered It was a poor heatsink/mica construction, there was no kepton available 10 years ago in the electronics shop, so the mica did a short which virtually destroyed the mosfets and of course the drivers, but that's not the point here.

Well, my transformer was 40-0-40 250VA, big heatsink, etc, everything according to calculations (+/-56VDC rails) in an old but effective design which used the even oldest hitachi lateral mosfets which came on TO-3 packages (I forgot their names, but then hitachi referred me to the 1058/162 replacements. It worked for several months, sounded great, but the oscillation (also called motorboating when referring to tubes) started and It's been in a box for several years.