Lateral MOSFET power supply and RMS output power.

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi guys.

I'm a newbie in this forum, so forgive me if my questions seems absurd and also my english which is not my native language. I studied electronics a while ago, well a decade ago. I built then a 120wRMS on 4ohms power amp using the famous hitachi 2sk1058/2sj162.

This amplifier had a tube preamp and after months of good sound it started to oscillate, well, I could'nt find then what was wrong, so I decided to unmont all pcb's, transformers etc, until I could find time and/or better knowledge, I suspected the preamp, later I discovered It was a poor heatsink/mica construction, there was no kepton available 10 years ago in the electronics shop, so the mica did a short which virtually destroyed the mosfets and of course the drivers, but that's not the point here.

Well, my transformer was 40-0-40 250VA, big heatsink, etc, everything according to calculations (+/-56VDC rails) in an old but effective design which used the even oldest hitachi lateral mosfets which came on TO-3 packages (I forgot their names, but then hitachi referred me to the 1058/162 replacements. It worked for several months, sounded great, but the oscillation (also called motorboating when referring to tubes) started and It's been in a box for several years.

About two months ago I decided to work again on the amp, and found that there are other interesting designs for the output stage, for example the P101 which I ordered the PCB and all the components. But something stopped me on my tracks... the power output for this design gives extreme power under my 4 ohms cabinet, according to Rod, the bias of the mosfets has nothing to do with the power output, the DC rails are responsible for that. (I only use 2 mosfets)