Bypass Caps & Transistors

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I am recapping my solid state power amplifier that uses transistors at it's output stage. The Circuit diagram shows a 10uf 250V electrolytic capacitor connected directly to the transistor. An electrolytic is currently connected there now that is 35 years old! I can fit a 10uf 250V MKP in the space but as a novice I am unsure whether or not it would be o.k. to use a better quality bypass cap or "tone capacitor" to accentuate the high frequencies, say a .01uf? In reading through the forums I have read that this may destabilize the bias current at the transistor and cause it to fail? The last thing I want is for the transistor to fail. Is this an appropriate place for a bypass cap?

Attachments

• Transistor-Capacitor.jpg
    Transistor-Capacitor.jpg
    136.7 KB · Views: 442
  • Transistor Circuit.jpg
    Transistor Circuit.jpg
    130 KB · Views: 446
This capacitor forms a filter to high frequencies, so they can quickly go to earth, without going to the bulk capacitor in the power supply. I suggest to use "low ESR capacitor" here, placed as close to the transistor as you can, and if possible, rated to 105C. Normally, there must be some capacitors of different values to decouple several ranges of frequencies. By example, a 1micro 50V electrolytic resonates about 100KHz. To any frequency above 100KHz, this cap is not a cap, is inductive. So, there must be a .1 (By example) to decouple the range in 100KHz, to, say, 500KHz. You can tell me 500KHz is not present in normal audio program, but if the supply is not well decoupled, the harmonics generated INSIDE the can reach low signal stages via the power lines/buses and start oscillate in a frequency where the amp can blown easily.

Best regards from Barrio Garay, Buenos Aires, Argentina.