Which to choose?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
So, if you had the following choices of power amp clones to build, which would you choose:
A Naim 140:
50W amplifier PCB Naim 140 !! | eBay
Krell KSA100:
High Power Pure Class A amplifier PCB KSA100 ! | eBay
Quad 405:
Class A dynamic biasing 80W amplifier PCB Quad 405 2pcs | eBay
JLH 2003:
Pure Class A OCL SEPP amplifier bare PCB JLH 2003 | eBay
Krell KSA50:
High Power Pure Class A amplifier PCB KSA50 ! | eBay
Musical Fidelity A1000:
Pure Class A 50W amplifier PCB MF A1000 1pc ! | eBay

Any one of these has more than enough power for my needs. I am not very experienced building solid state power amps but I've built plenty of other things in the past.

In terms of comparing these amps - I've not heard them, but their reputation is such that I expect they all sound really good.

But in terms of building them there are quite a few differences I imagine. For example, the Class A amps will tend to operate at lower output power and/or require significant heatsinks to get rid of the excess heat - they'll want some beefy power supplies too. These things are usually more expensive, bulkier and heavier and the Krell amp originally had a fan to cool the heatsink further.

I'm not familiar with this supplier - don't know how good their pcb's are. As a suggestion, if you want a Class A amp I'd choose one from the Pass labs forum because you will be able to go there for support and you know for sure they all work really nicely.

http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/pass-labs/121228-f5-power-amplifier.html

I don't know which pcb's are officially sanctioned - if you Google for Pass F5 you should find a few options for buying pcb's.

Any one of these has more than enough power for my needs. I am not very experienced building solid state power amps but I've built plenty of other things in the past.

#1. JLH 2003 (15W-25W?)