My HV opamp - Working suspiciously well - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 26th December 2011, 01:18 PM   #1
bigwill is offline bigwill  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

Default My HV opamp - Working suspiciously well

I'm very new to solid state designs, and I'm attempting to design a high voltage amplifier to drive the grids of output tubes.

I whipped this up (see attachment) in LTSpice and it works, suspiciously well in fact, I'm getting readings of 0.009% distortion at 20Khz while swinging 100V P-P into the 10k load resistor, with the gain set to 100 (well, near enough)

Now, I'm not 100% trustworthy of this result, seeing as it seems pretty good, and I basically happened upon this design by accident / fiddling. For example, I'm not sure if my current mirror is actually doing anything useful, as it's driving the low impedance input of the VAS transistor.

Basically it would be really great if someone could look over this design for me and suggest improvements where possible

Thanks for any help
Attached Images
File Type: png Screen Shot 2011-12-26 at 13.12.01.png (52.7 KB, 314 views)
Old 26th December 2011, 02:13 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

What tube are you driving?
Old 26th December 2011, 02:21 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Eckhardt View Post
What tube are you driving?
I don't know yet - most likely pentode mode EL34s or KT88s, I'm just trying to develop a circuit that can easily drive pretty much anything. It is probably overkill but it's an interesting excercise in itself
Old 26th December 2011, 02:37 PM   #4
Bigun is offline Bigun  Canada
diyAudio Member

what is the advantage in this approach, over say, an all-tube design ? - is it simply that you have lower distortion given all the nfb ?