Repair help requested - Creek 4240SE - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 28th October 2011, 02:11 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Repair help requested - Creek 4240SE

A family member recently gave me a dead Creek 4240SE integrated amplifier. The unswitched outputs were inadvertently grounded together. I found the power supply fuses were blown when I opened up the case. When I replaced them, they quickly blew again (less than 2 seconds). I have contacted Creek to try to get a schematic (the sent me one for my old 4140 a few years ago), but I have not been able to get them to send me one for the 4240, so far.

I am pretty new to the DIY audio world (one Millet Max headphone amp build under my belt), and I don't have much of an electrical engineering background, so I am looking for any help I can get on diagnosing the problem(s) and repairing them. I am an engineer, however, and I have access to most of the tools I could imagine needing (DMM, O-scope, etc). This is not an urgent project, but I am hoping to learn a little about amplifier design in the process. If anyone has the schematic for this amp and can share it, or has any tips on where I should start with debug, I would appreciate the help.

Thanks in advance!
Old 28th October 2011, 02:17 AM   #2
just another
diyAudio Moderator

I'd say it is likely that your output transistors have failed short circuit as a result of the original short on the output, before the PS fuses blew. Now you have most likely got a permanent short on the output which is why the fuses blew again.

Check the output transistors for shorts, as a first step There may be other collateral damage as well, but that's a starting point.

Tony.