Quad 405 cheap kits on ebay - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Closed Thread

Old 27th September 2011, 06:37 AM   #1
50AE is offline 50AE  Bulgaria
diyAudio Member

Default Quad 405 cheap kits on ebay

Hi,

I am a beginner and I need amps to assemble for my active system.
I've been recommended to make quad 405, I've been told it's a quite good amp for its price and availability.

I found sone cheap kits on eBay:

(link removed by moderators)
I suspect that after assembly, some components may be changed as caps and transistors. Could the transistors be fakes?
I've been also told that this amp requires a special launch procedure, a current value of few mA must be input or something.

Old 27th September 2011, 10:20 AM   #2
DF96 is offline DF96  England
diyAudio Member

Is not a Quad 405 bought from anyone other than Quad a fake, by definition? Should we be encouraging this Chinese intellectual property theft? Has he paid royalties on the design?

Old 27th September 2011, 10:31 AM   #3
wahab is offline wahab  Algeria
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by DF96 View Post
Is not a Quad 405 bought from anyone other than Quad a fake, by definition? Should we be encouraging this Chinese intellectual property theft? Has he paid royalties on the design?
That s in public domain now.
The only theft of property in this business is the use of the "Quad"
brand name in the PCBs...

Old 27th September 2011, 10:47 AM   #4
diyAudio Member

(url removed by moderators)
After 5547 successfull eBay transactions, perhaps it is time now to correct the product description, like using the word "semiconductor" or "transistor" instead of "tube" ...

Old 27th September 2011, 11:05 AM   #5
DF96 is offline DF96  England
diyAudio Member